VSA Committees

Business Development Committee

The Business Development Committee informs and makes recommendations to the VSA Board of Management. We work to identify and secure sponsors, business opportunities and industry partners along with managing the VSA marketing strategy.


Professor Debra Kiegaldie (Chair)
You can read more about Debra here

Beverley Sutton
You can read more about Bev here

Debra Kiegaldie
Debra KiegaldieBusiness Development Committee Chair

Research Committee

The purpose of the VSA Research Committee is to foster a culture of scholarship among Alliance members to promote evidenced-based application of simulation methodologies in health professional education by:

  1. Formulating a strategic plan for the development of collaborative research projects among members of the VSA.
  2. Promoting dissemination and sharing of research findings to VSA members through local seminars and symposiums.
  3. Providing leadership and advice where possible to Alliance members on the development and implementation of research projects related to simulated learning environments.
  4. Adding to the body of knowledge of simulated learning environments through the publication of peer reviewed articles in scholarly journals.
  5. Dissemination of information to Alliance members of research grants and funding opportunities related to or applicable to simulated learning environments.


Monica Peddle (Chair)
You can read more about Monica here


Monica Peddle
Monica PeddleResearch committee chair

Finance & Risk Committee

The purpose of the Finance and Risk Committee (FRC) is to provide information to assist the Board to make decisions and deliver recommendations by monitoring the following: 

  1. The annual budget
  2. Accounts processing
  3. The financial statements
  4. Financial and operational risk


Julie Cartwright (Chair)
You can read more about Julie here

Beverley Sutton
You can read more about Bev here
Julie Cartwright
Julie CartwrightFinance & Risk Committee Chair

Events Committee

The Events Committee (EC) informs and makes recommendations to the Board by organising and managing the following 

  • Events
  • Conferences
  • Workshops / Symposia
  • Webinars 
  • Discussion Forums


Tess Vawser (Chair)
You can read more about Tess here

Tom Hallahan
You can read more about Tom here

Melissa Ciardulli

Melissa is a passionate advocate for simulation and in developing learners to become capable, knowledgeable, and compassionate individuals ready for success in the healthcare and human services field.  

With 25 years of experience in paediatric intensive care nursing, she holds graduate and postgraduate qualifications in nursing and education and recently completed a Master of Adult and Vocational Education.   

She is currently the Simulation Program Leader for the Faculty of Health Sciences, Youth and Community Studies at Holmesglen Institute, Melbourne. Particularly interested in delivering simulation experiences that explore communication competencies crucial to professional life, in addition to intra and interprofessional collaboration and teamwork.  

Tess Vawser
Tess VawserEvents Committee Chair

Marketing & Communications Committee

The Marketing and Communications Committee (MCCis responsible for the strategy and execution of VSA marketing initiatives, and informs and makes recommendations to the Board with regard to the following 

  • Marketing Strategy 
    • Development of campaigns
    • Development and execution of the membership content strategy 
  • Management of the VSA website 
  • Social media management 
  • Promotion of VSA events (in conjunction with the Events Committee)


Liana Moule (Chair)

Liana is an experienced B2B marketing professional, skilled in Customer Relationship Management (CRM), go-to-market strategy, project management and account management. She has led National Marketing strategies across a variety of industries and is currently employed with Health Education Australia Limited (HEAL), where she launched a new business division to market; the Australasian Institute of Clinical Governance (AICG).

Professor Debra Nestel
You can read more about Debra here

Brendan Condon
You can read more about Brendan here

Karen Livesay
You can read more about Karen here.
Liana Moule
Liana MouleMarketing & Communications Committee Chair

Want to get involved?

If you have a passion for simulation, a commitment to educational excellence, and are interested in participating on any of these committees please send an 'Expression of Interest', together with a current Curriculum Vitae to 

Victorian state government logo

© 2021 Victorian Simulation Alliance. All Rights Reserved.